Banner Image

Our mission is to preserve and restore the diverse, historic environment of Shaw's 7th and 9th Street commercial corridors, offering residents and visitors a better place to live, work, shop, play, and pray.

Comprised of 11 leaders with diverse interests in the Shaw community, the Board of Directors has final accountability for the success of Shaw Main Streets. Board service entails a range of activities and duties, including establishing policies and goals, overseeing operations and finances, leading committees and projects, and raising funds for the organization.

Board Members are elected at the Annual Meeting. The term of each board position is 2 years.

2014-2015 Board Roster

Buwa Binitie

Dantes Partners
Representing  the Commercial Real Estate Development Community

Ralph G. Brabham, Board Chair
Beau Thai
Representing Shaw Residents and Business Owners

Scott A. Claffee
Representing Shaw Residents 

Gerry M. Coates
HRY Design and Premier Eco Paints
Representing Shaw Residents and Developers

Andrea Gourdine, Board Secretary
Douglas Development Corporation
Representing the Commercial Real Estate Development Community

Paul Hughes
Mayer Brown LLP
Representing Shaw Residents

Ali Kianersi

Colombo Bank

Representing Shaw Businesses

Mary Margaret Porterfield, Board Treasurer
comScore, Inc.
Representing Shaw Residents

Nooni Reatig
Suzane Reatig Architecture
Representing Shaw Businesses and Residents

Henok Tesfaye
Etete Restaurant, U Street Parking
Representing Shaw Businesses

Gretchen Wharton
Representing Shaw Residents